Finding Research on Fans

So today’s topic of research was finding evidence of peacock feathers in fans. I found this research in a book called The World of Ancient Rome: A Daily Life Encyclopedia by James W. Ermatinger Page 290. In this same section I found information saying that umbrellas were also very similar to modern ones in that they could go up and down.

Author: Lucretia Natta

Welcome to my Arts and Sciences blog. My name is Lucretia Natta and I am from 1st century Rome. In the real world my name is Nicole and I am a member of the Society for Creative Anachronism. We are a world wide organization that re-enacts pre 16th century cultures. If you are interested in checking out more of what we are about in general please visit www.sca.org . This blog will be about my adventures researching, learning about, and trying out techniques in my areas of interest in this group. Currently work will be focusing on 1st century Rome and their ideas on glass work, adoption and mentoring of people, courtesans, and the role of women.

Leave a Reply

